The federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. Texas state minimum wage is the same amount as the federal minimum wage. While domestic workers are not covered under the Texas state minimum wage law, most domestic workers, except for companions and casual babysitters, are covered under the federal minimum wage law, and are therefore entitled to earn at least $7.25 an hour (federal minimum wage). Until very recently, home care workers were excluded from minimum wage protections under state and federal law, but thanks to workers fighting for their rights, home care workers are now covered by federal minimum wage ($7.25 an hour). Live-in domestic workers are entitled to the minimum wage.
However, there are some exemptions to the federal minimum wage rules: