All domestic workers, including companions, casual babysitters, and live-in domestic workers, have the right to minimum wage in the state of Maryland. The minimum wage is $8.75 effective July 1, 2016, $9.25 an hour effective July 1, 2017, and will increase to $10.10 an hour effective July 1, 2018. If you are related to your employer (wife, father, step-parent, daughter, son, step brother/step sister, or brother/sister), you do not have the right to Maryland’s minimum wage laws, but must receive the federal minimum wage ($7.25/hour). However, if you are a companion or a casual babysitter (refers to workers who care for children irregularly and not as their only source of income), you are not entitled to the federal minimum wage.


Comments are closed.